In Florida, mobile homes must be registered. A numbered decal, instead of a license plate, is issued for identification. State statutes require mobile home registrations to be renewed annually by December 31st. A delinquent fee is charged if the registration is not renewed by the 10th of the following month.
Registration fees are set by the Department of Motor Vehicles and are based on the length of the mobile home. Double wide and triple wide mobile homes are considered two and three separate units respectively. Each unit must have a decal. Mobile home owners are required to display the decal in a window clearly visible from the road in front of the home.
To register a mobile home, the owner must present to the Tax Collector's Office one of the following documents:
- The current or last issued Florida Vehicle Registration Certificate for the mobile home (if lost, furnish the most current decal number or VIN number)
- The title to the mobile home if the Registration Certificate is not available. If financed, the owner must obtain a copy from the lien holder.
- The title (from Florida or any other state) signed off by the previous owner if it has not been transferred into the current owner's name and the bill of sale. The Tag Office will process the transfer prior to registration into the new owner(s) name. Decal fees will be assessed from the purchase date.
Manufactured / Mobile Home Registration Fees - Effective 9/1/2009
|Length||1 Year||NEW 2 Year|
|36' - 40'||$36.85||$73.70|
|41' - 45'||$41.85||$83.70|
|46' - 50'||$46.85||$93.70|
|51' - 55'||$51.85||$103.70|
|56' - 60'||$56.85||$113.70|
|61' - 65'||$61.85||$123.70|
|66' and up||$91.85||$183.70|