Concealed Weapons License Applications & Renewals
TUESDAY APRIL 4, 2017 THE CWL SYSTEM WILL BE DOWN IN OUR OFFICE 12:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M. DUE TO NEW EQUIPMENT INSTALL. WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE.
* New CWL applications and Renewals are walk-in only between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at our main office located in the McPherson Government Complex at 503 SE 25th Ave. Ocala ONLY.
Legislation passed in 2014 created a partnership between the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and Florida's tax collectors. The Concealed Weapon Intake System (CWIS) provides an opportunity for you to complete and submit your application in person at our main office located in the McPherson Government Complex at 503 SE 25th Ave. Ocala ONLY. You will be directed to the CWL department where you will complete an electronic version of the application form. Staff will preview your application, scan your fingerprints, take your photograph and process your payment (a small convenience fee applies). Call 352-368-8200 for additional information. When you arrive in our office, please go straight to our greeter for assistance.
In addition to the convenience, the Concealed Weapon Intake System (CWIS) streamlines the application screening and review process, thereby reducing the time it takes our Division to issue a license once the application package arrives in Tallahassee.
Below are answers to some of the more commonly asked questions about the Concealed Weapon Intake System (CWIS).
- How much does it cost to apply for a Florida concealed weapon license?
- What should I bring with me to the Tax Collector Office?
- What will happen once I arrive at the Tax Collector Office?
- How can I confirm that I am eligible for a concealed weapon license before going to the Tax Collector Office?
- How long will it take for the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) to process my concealed weapon license application?
- How do I renew my concealed weapon license?
The total state fee for the concealed weapon license is $102 (an application fee of $60 + a fingerprint-processing fee of $42). The tax collector office charges an additional convenience fee ($22 for new license applications). The total state renewal fee for a Florida resident is $50. The tax collector office charges an additional convenience fee ($12 for renewal applications) (Checks should be made out to George Albright, Tax Collector, and not to The Department of Agriculture.)
FLORIDA CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE SCHEDULE
|License Type||Fingerprint Processing Fee||Initial License||Tax Collector Processing Fee||Total||Renewal License Fee||Tax Collector Renewal Fee||Renewal Total|
|Concealed Weapon Florida Resident||$42||$60||$22||$124||$50||$12||$62|
|Concealed Weapon Non-Florida Resident||$42||$60||$22||$124||$92 (includes $42 fingerprint processing fee)||$12||$104|
|FLORIDA Law Enforcement Officer, Active||NONE||$60||$22||$82||$50||$12||$62|
|FLORIDA Law Enforcement Officer, RETIRED within preceding year||NONE||NONE||$22||$22||$30||$12||$42|
|FLORIDA Law Enforcement Officer, RETIRED more than one year||$42||$30||$22||$94||$30||$12||$42|
|Consular Security Officer||NONE||$300||$22||$322||$300||$12||$312|
You should have with you the following items/documents when you arrive at the tax collector’s office:
- A picture ID. A driver license or state-issued identification card is perfectly acceptable;
- A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms that you are proficient with a firearm;
- A personal check, cashier’s check, cash or money order in the proper amount. You may also pay by credit card or debit card. Please Note: If paying by credit card, our third-party payment processor, Point and Pay, Inc. will charge a 2.50% convenience fee. (Checks should be made out to George Albright, Tax Collector, and not to The Department of Agriculture.)
- If you have ever been arrested, you should bring with you certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you.
- If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien, you will need to bring official documentation with you that confirms your citizenship status. Please review eligibility information concerning citizenship requirements.
First, one of the tax collector employees will direct you to a computer station where you will complete an electronic application form. You do not need to complete an application form in advance. The tax collector employee will then review your application, take your photograph, electronically scan your fingerprints, and take your payment. You should be able to complete the entire process in about half hour or less.
You can review the basic eligibility requirements for the Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License. You can also take a few moments to take our online preliminary eligibility determination questionnaire.
By law, FDACS must either issue a license or deny an application within 90 days of receiving a complete application. However, the actual turnaround time will ultimately depend on the workload facing FDACS employees in Tallahassee and may be substantially less than 90 days.
You should be aware of two issues that may affect your application processing time.
- If your electronic fingerprint scan is insufficiently legible to complete a background check, the division will notify you by letter that you will need to submit another set of fingerprints. You can return to the tax collector’s office for a second fingerprint scan.
- After FDACS employees have reviewed your application, you may be notified by letter if they need additional information from you. For example, the division may need clarification from you about your background check results. If you receive such a letter, you will need to respond by mail directly to FDACS.
- You can check on the status of your application online.
If your Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License was issued on or after Wednesday, June 11, 2008, it is valid for a period of seven years. The expiration date appears on the front of your license. If you hold a valid Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License issued prior to June 11, 2008, that license is valid for only five years. It will expire on the date that appears on the face of the license. When you renew your concealed weapon license, your new license will be valid for seven years.
Approximately 150 days prior to the expiration date of your license, the division will send you the renewal form with complete instructions on how to renew your license. To help ensure the Division of Licensing has sufficient time to process your renewal application prior to the expiration date of your current license, complete and return your renewal form immediately to:
CONCEALED WEAPON OR FIREARM LICENSE RENEWAL
Division of Licensing
Post Office Box 6387
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6387
Alternatively, you can submit your renewal form at one of the Division of Licensing's eight regional offices. You simply have to call for an appointment by contacting the office that is most convenient for you. Bring your unsigned form with you. We will perform the notary service and take your picture at no additional charge. If, for some reason, you are unable to keep your appointment, please call the Regional Office at least 24 hours prior to the time you are scheduled to appear if at all possible so that your appointment time can be assigned to another applicant. Regional offices cannot accept payment by credit card or cash. Acceptable forms of payment include check or money order. Prior to arrival at a regional office, renewal applicants can submit payment via the online payment system on the department's main website. However, you will still need to go to a regional office in order to have your renewal affidavit notarized and photograph taken.
The Marion County Tax Collector's office is also processing CWL renewals. Bring your renewal notice, photo identification, and payment, and if your name has changed, you should also bring legal documentation of your name change. A tax collector’s office employee will assist you with submitting your application electronically to the department and take your photograph. Concealed Weapon License applications are walk-in only, when you arrive please go straight to our greeter for assistance. (McPherson Government Complex Office ONLY)
If for some reason you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, keep in mind that your Concealed Weapon or Firearm license can be renewed up to six (6) months beyond the expiration date in accordance with section 790.06(11)(a), Florida Statutes. However, there is a late fee of $15 for renewing after the expiration date. A concealed weapon license that has been expired for longer than six months cannot be renewed. If you fail to renew within that six-month period after expiration, you will have to apply for a new license. You cannot carry a concealed weapon or firearm after your license has expired.