Tag Registration and Renewal
To renew your tags online click here .
Important Notice: The Florida Legislature is currently reviewing a bill that may lower the cost of motor vehicle registrations by up to $25.00 per year. If approved, this legislative change is scheduled to take effect September 1, 2014. In an effort to save you money, the Marion County Tax Collector recommends renewing your motor vehicle registration for one year, versus two years. There is no cost advantage with two-year registration renewals. If this legislation is passed, refunds will not be given for current registrations.
Florida uses a metal license plate with the alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The renewal sticker denoting the owner's birth month and expiration date is placed in the upper right hand corner of the license plate. The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the tenth year.
Registration is renewed annually during the owner's birth month and expires at midnight on the owner's birthday. The exceptions to this schedule are: company owned and short-termed lease vehicles are renewed in June; truck-tractors, semi-trailers, trucks weighing over 5000 pounds and nine-passenger seating and over vehicles for hire are renewed in December. Rates are determined by vehicle weight for vehicles and by length for mobile homes, which are due annually by December 31st.
Renewal Registration By Mail
License plates, decals and registration receipts can be mailed to the vehicle owner for a small fee added to the annual rate.
After the initial registration of the vehicle, you may receive a courtesy reminder to renew the license plate. You should receive these card(s) 4 to 6 weeks before your birth month.
You may renew your license plate registration in person at the Tax Collector's Office or by mailing the registration card to the Tax Collector with your check or money order. You may also renew by telephone or on the internet. Click here for instructions. When renewing by telephone, you must have the PIN number from your Registration Renewal Card. Or, if you are renewing by internet, you must either have the PIN number from your Registration Renewal Card or your License Plate number, date of birth of owner, or expiration date of registration. You must also have a valid credit card. Additional fees will be added for mail, telephone, or internet renewals.
NOTE: A Delinquent fee is charged if the registration is not renewed by the 10th of the month following expiration.
Attention Military Personnel
Do not renew on-line until reviewing the following information and ensuring your Driver License and Vehicle Registration won’t be suspended! Contact our office at 352-368-8200 with any questions.
Renewing your vehicle or boat registration? Click here to see how to avoid costly Driver License &/or Vehicle Registration SUSPENSIONS.
There are specific qualifications and requirements for exemption from proof of Florida insurance.