Parking Permits for Disabled Persons
NEW LEGISLATION CALLS FOR DOCUMENTATION WHEN RENEWING
If you have a blue permanent disabled parking permit, you need to be aware of the new requirements put in place by Florida lawmakers. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will implement the new law.
Effective Oct. 1, 2012 any person issued a blue permanent disabled parking permit must renew the permit every four years and, when doing so, provide a certificate of disability completed and signed by a certifying authority within the last 12 months. That means every blue disabled parking permit holder will, at least every four years and within 12 months of the date of their renewal, fill out Form HSMV 83039. Permit holders will not have to pay a renewal fee.
A placard can be purchased by an individual with disabilities that limit or impair their ability to walk or is certified legally blind. The parking permit entitles the driver transporting the disabled passenger to utilize handicap parking facilities. The placard is transferable to any vehicle transporting the disabled person. The placard is to be hung on the rear view mirror when using the designated parking spaces. Applicants and their physician are required to sign for the permit HSMV 83039. There is no fee for a four year disabled person parking permit.
A temporary disabled parking permit is also available. The temporary permit is issued for the time period specified by the certifying authority, not to exceed six (6) months. Fee is $15.00 regardless of the number of days for which it is issued. If the person is still disabled when the temporary parking permit expires, a new application with certification is required.
The applicant for a disabled person parking permit MUST have a valid Florida driver license or Florida identification card (unless an exception is indicated by the physician).
An additional permit may be issued to a disabled person who qualifies as a frequent traveler or as a quadriplegic. (Not allowed for temporary parking permits)
An organization can be issued as many disabled person parking permits as it has vehicles that are used to transport disabled persons.
Permits issued to disabled persons will expire in four years on the applicant's birthday. Permits issued to an organization will expire in four years on June 30.
In order for a disabled person to be allowed to use a handicapped space, they must park and exit the vehicle. Therefore, if the disabled person remains in the vehicle while their driver or passenger exits the vehicle, they are in violation of the law.
The permit must be hung on the rear view mirror of any vehicle used to transport the disabled person(s) while parked in a designated disabled person parking space. The permit number must be visible from the front of the vehicle.