Florida Vehicle Titles
Florida Vehicle Titles can now be issued by all branch offices (except the Ocala Annex Branch) at the time of the transaction for an additional fee of $10.00 for vehicles, $5.00 for vessels. However for an additional $2.50 you may have your title mailed direct from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in Tallahassee. If you do not require a paper title at this time you may request your title be held electronically. Normal printing fees will be required once a paper title is needed. To transfer a Florida Title, the seller must complete the transfer information on the current title, including the purchaser's name, selling price, date of sale, the odometer reading and date the odometer was read.
The purchaser then signs the face of the title in the "transfer of title" section and completes an Application for Title HSMV 82040. A bill of sale may be submitted for proof of purchase price. Sales tax will be collected if applicable. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date of sale or a $20.00 late fee is imposed at the time of transfer.
NOTE: FAST TITLE SERVICE is offered at all branch offices (except the Ocala Annex Branch), for an additional fee of $10.00 for vehicles or $5.00 for vessels.
PLEASE NOTE: Any alteration to the title may void the Certificate of Title document.
Title Fees** - Effective 9/1/2009
|Original / Duplicate / Transfer||$75.75|
|O/State with NGWF||$85.75|
|For Hire Original||$54.75|
|For Hire Original Used||$64.75|
|Title Adding a Lien||$74.75|
** Add $2 Lemon Law fee for MSO/MCO vehicles if applicable